Home Current Affairs Awards Current Affairs

Awards Current Affairs

  • 21-Feb-2017
  • EDII wins International Mercury Award 2016-17

    The Ahmedabad-based Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India (EDII), an acknowledged national resource institute for entrepreneurship education, research, training and institution-building, has received the prestigious International Mercury Awards (IMA) for the year 2016-17 for the best overall presentation of its 2015-2016 annual report.

  • Tata Steel's Katamati Mine wins Best Green Award

    Tata Steel's Katamati iron mine has been honoured with the the Best Green Organisation of the Year Award at the Global Green Future Leadership Awards in recognition of its environmental protection measures.

  •  Newton wins Art Cinema honour at Berlinale

    Raj Kummar Rao and Anjali Patil starrer political satire Newton, which had its world premiere at the 67th Berlin Film Festival , has won the International Federation of Art Cinemas (CICAE) award in its Forum segment.

  • Sakshi Malik, Sardar Singh, Babita Phogat get top Haryana sports award

    The Haryana government on Sunday decorated 42 sports persons with top state sports honour. Those who got the prestigious Bhim award also include former Indian Hockey captain Sardar Singh and wrestler Babita Phogat.Those who won the Bhim awards for the year 2016-17 also include Ankur Mittal (Shooting) Sakshi Malik and Babita Phogat (Wrestling), Sandeep Kumar (Athletics), Saurav (Taekwondo), Pankaj (Cycling), Meena Kumari (Shooting), Ritu (Handball), Gauri Sheoran and Vishwajeet Singh (Shooting) Jaideep(Para athletics) and Ranveer Singh Saini (Golf /Special Olympics).

  • 17-Feb-2017
  • Surendra Verma selected for Vyas Samman 2016

    Well known Hindi Scholar and writer Surendra Verma has been selected for Vyas Samman-2016. Mr Verma has been chosen for this prestigious award for his novel Kaatna Shami Ka Vriksha : Padma Pankhuri Ki Dhar Se, published in 2010.

  • 14-Feb-2017
  • Adele sweeps top awards at Grammys 2017

    The big winner of the US music industry awards evening was English singer-songwriter Adele. She took home the awards in all the five categories for which she was nominated on Sunday night, including the top three categories - album, record of the year with her comeback album "25," and song of the year with her megahit "Hello."

  • 70th BAFTA Awards 2017

    The 70th British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Awards ceremony was held at the Royal Albert Hall in London. This year the BAFTA awards were conferred for the outstanding performances in films and documentaries screened at British Cinemas in 2016. La La Land won the most awards at the event, winning five and was also most nominated in 11 categories.

    • Best Film: La La Land

    • Best Director: Damien Chazelle (La La Land)

    • Best Actor: Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)

    • Best Actress: Emma Stone (La La Land)

    • Best Original Music: La La Land

    • Best Original Screenplay: Manchester by the Sea

  • Indian Tabla player Sandeep Das wins 2017 Grammy Award for Best Global Music

    Indian tabla player Sandeep Das was part of Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble ‘Sing Me Home’ that won the Grammy in the World Music category that also included sitarist Anoushka Shankar’s ‘Land of Gold’.

  • 09-Feb-2017
  • Surgeon Raghu Ram awarded 2016 B C Roy Award

    Dr P Raghu Ram, President of Association of Breast Surgeons of India was awarded prestigious Dr B C Roy national award for outstanding service in the field of socio-medical relief for 2016.

  • 08-Feb-2017
  • Indian-Origin British Sculptor Anish Kapoor Wins $ 1 Million Israeli Prize

    Renowned Indian-origin British sculptor Anish Kapoor was honored with the prestigious $1 million 2017 Genesis Prize by Israel for his utmost contribution for Jewish community.

Show More
Current Affairs By Date
Current Affairs By Month February  2017January  2017December  2016November  2016October  2016September  2016 Current Affairs By Subject Arts & CultureAwardsEconomyEnvironmentGeneralPoliticsProjects & SchemesScience & technology Sports Current Affairs By Region World India
Copyright © 2017 Open Guide Online. All rights reserved