Home Current Affairs Politics Current Affairs

Politics Current Affairs

  • 10-Nov-2016
  • Indian-American Kamala Harris wins US senate seat from California

    • Kamala Harris'  will be  the  first Indian American to serve in the U.S. Senate.
    • She will also be just the second black woman to serve in the U.S. Senate, and the first black senator from California.
  • 01-Nov-2016
  • 51st Haryana Day observed

    • The 51st Haryana Day was observed on 1 November 2016. The day was observed as Haryana Golden Jubilee (Swarna Jyanti) across the state.
    • The day marks completion of Haryana being made part of India for 51 years
  • 31-Oct-2016
  • Spain's conservative Rajoy voted back to power

    • Spain's parliament voted conservative Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy back into power Saturday.
    • One hundred and seventy lawmakers voted for Rajoy, 111 against, and 68 abstained
  • World Bank appoints Kristalina Georgieva as chief executive

    • Kristalina Georgieva has been appointed chief executive of World bank.
    • She has been appointed CEO of  International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD and International Development Association (IDA), lending arms for middle-income and poor countries known collectively as the World Bank.
  • 27-Oct-2016
  • Justice Reddy committee on OROP submits report

    The one-man judicial committee on One Rank One Pension (OROP) submitted its report to the Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, on 26 October 2016.

    The committee was appointed under the Chairmanship of Justice L Narasimha Reddy, retired Chief Justice of Patna High Court to look into the anomalies, if any, arising out of implementation of OROP.

  • 23-Oct-2016
    • Indian Foreign Secretary Jaishankar visited Sri Lanka to promote Indian business and investment.
    • An unstated aim of this visit is to compete with China which has a large share of economic impact on Sri Lanka.


  • 14-Oct-2016
  • Israel Suspends UNESCO Cooperation Over Jerusalem Draft
    i. Israel suspended cooperation with the UNESCO, a day after the U.N. cultural agency adopted a draft resolution on the Temple Mount and Western Wall.
    ii. As per the document posted on UNESCO’s website, the holy sites will be referred to by their Arabic name, Haram esh-Sharif, while the Hebrew terms will only appear in quotation marks in UN references.

  • 13-Oct-2016
  • i. The Union Cabinet under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi had given its approval for signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on General Cooperation with New Development Bank (NDB) through the BRICS Interbank Cooperation Mechanism by Government at the level of Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs/ Export Import Bank of India
    ii. The Union Cabinet under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi had been apprised of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed on April 7, 1999

  • i. Devendra Fadnavis lead Maharashtra government decided to extend fee waiver to students for professional and higher education courses, including medical and engineering.
    ii. Before SC/ST students had 100 per cent fee waiver while OBC students had 50 per cent concession. Now it is extended to all students with income limit of Rs 6 lakhsand who have secured more than 60 per cent marks at the time of admission.
    iii.Those with income limit upto Rs 2.5 lakhs will have no condition

  • 05-Oct-2016
  • i. The Cabinet approved amendments to the HIV and AIDS (Prevention and Control) Bill, 2014 in a meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The bill makes antiretroviral treatment a legal right of HIV/AIDS patients
    ii. The Union Cabinet gave its approval for the signing of Memorandum of Understanding(MoU) between India and African-Asian Rural DevelopmentOrganisation (AARDO) for capacity building programmes in the rural development sector.

Show More
Copyright © 2016 Open Guide Online. All rights reserved